You needn’t feel responsible for me

I tell you things because I think you’ll understand.
No. It’s because I want you to understand me.
They’re just words. They are neither plea nor demand.
I need just a listening ear who can leave things be.

It’s a mental jigsaw that I’m trying hard to build;
In a hurried verbal scramble for the misshapen pieces,
With my troubles quickly I have your ears filled.
You think I vomited on you? That’s not bile that’s faeces.

But even as you wipe yourself clean of my filth,
You try to help me; you want to make it go away.
Frozen in the headlights shining down my guilt,
I fervently assure you’ll that I’ll be OK.

You see through the blithe diversion, the tactic futile.
More futile is how you feel, unable to set me free.
But if ever I’m lost, it won’t be your number I’ll dial;
Or you’ll never realize – you needn’t feel responsible for me.

2 thoughts on “You needn’t feel responsible for me

  1. “But if ever I’m lost, it won’t be your number I’ll dial;
    Or you’ll never realize – you needn’t feel responsible for me.” – This line is exceptionally good.

    “With my troubles quickly I have your ears filled.
    You think I vomited on you? That’s not bile that’s faeces.” – This one feels a little contrived.

    • Thanks.
      Sometimes you can’t help how you feel and so you end up vomiting whatever feeling you have in your heart. It’s uncontrollable. It’s almost a reflex reaction.
      Whereas, sometimes you know what you’re doing, you know full well that you’re disturbing/harming the other person but you continue to say things just to make yourself better. Like when you cheat on your spouse and decide to tell them about it, not because you care about honesty and trust, but because you can’t live with the guilt. That’s equivalent to shitting on someone.
      I was trying to imply that I shat all over the person instead of involuntarily vomiting on them, but I couldn’t quite get the meter right so I just slapped it in haphazardly.
      Not too proud of that line, but I thought I should try and explain the sentiment.

Leave a Reply

